Menu

Black truffle of Périgord

Adam

The gastronomy has no border and you will find it in Dordogne, also called Périgord. Born in 1979 I was raised there. The family property, operated in bed and breakfast, is located near Sarlat in the Périgord Noir. From our childhood, the sunny mornings in winter, my father took my sister and I fetched truffles from the fly. On four legs in the wet grass where the fly arose, it was necessary to sniff the earth to spot the hidden truffle.

 

This initiation, among other things, leads me to adopt a school curriculum towards the hotel and the restaurant. After the Bordeaux Hotel High School, it was the Vatel school in Paris and then the' Ecole Hotel de Lausanne. My professional experiences lead me from the Isle of Oléron to Saint Barth in Relais Châteaux, in Paris at the Grand Intercontinental Hotel and at the Palace of Crillon. I realise that my Perigord origins offer me the chance to choose a quality of life more for my liking: the campaign and then decides to return to Périgord to develop the tourist activity of my parents.

 

On my return, the luck smiles at me, our neighbour is no other than Jean Pierre Audivert, president of the Federation of the Truffle of Périgord (FDTP). A few years ago he had already transmitted to me the virus of the truffle by making me discover with his dog the "Cavage", or to look for truffles. He encourages me to become a young member of the Federation and accompanies me in my project: planting 500 truffle trees.

Ten years later, the time has come to share my harvest with my two families: gourmets and catering professionals.

Truffière Valley of the Dordogne
Adam and Largo
Cavage

Menu

truffe noire du périgord

Adam

La gastronomie n’a pas de frontière et vous la trouverez en Dordogne, aussi appelé Périgord. Né en 1979 j’y ai été élevé. La propriété familiale, exploitée en chambres d’hôtes, se trouve prés de Sarlat  dans le Périgord Noir. Dés notre enfance, les matins ensoleillés en hiver, mon père nous emmenait ma sœur et moi chercher des truffes à la mouche. A quatre pattes dans l’herbe mouillée là où la mouche se posait, il fallait renifler la terre pour repérer la truffe cachée.

 

Cette initiation, entre autres, m’amène à adopter un cursus scolaire vers l’hôtellerie et la restauration. Après le lycée hôtelier de Bordeaux, ce fut l’école Vatel à Paris puis l’Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne. Mes expériences professionnelles me conduisent de l’Île d’Oléron à Saint-Barth dans des Relais Châteaux, à Paris au Grand Hôtel Intercontinental et au Palace de Crillon. Je prends conscience que mes origines périgourdines m’offrent la chance de pouvoir choisir une qualité de vie plus à mon goût : la campagne et décide alors de rentrer en Périgord développer l’activité touristique de mes parents.

 

A mon retour, la chance me sourit, notre voisin n’est autre que Jean Pierre Audivert,  Président de la Fédération Départementale des Trufficulteurs du Périgord (FDTP). Quelques années auparavant il m’avait déjà transmis lui aussi le virus de la truffe en me faisant découvrir avec sa chienne le « cavage », soit chercher des truffes. Il m’encourage à devenir un jeune membre de la fédération et m’accompagne dans mon projet : planter 500 arbres truffiers.

Dix ans après, le temps est venu de partager ma récolte avec mes deux familles : les gastronomes et les professionnels de la restauration.

Truffière vallée de la Dordogne
Adam et Largo
cavage